Pardon me

Comfort, comfort my people, says your God. Speak tenderly to Jerusalem, and proclaim to her that her hard service has been completed, that her sin has been paid for, that she has received from the LORD’s hand double for all her sins. Isaiah 40: 1-2

So I’m walking in the mall yesterday strolling along, when V Cape the Legend calls. Ironically, I had missed church that morning but V Cape was calling me to tell me about his experience at church. Now this doesn’t happen too often so he had me all ears because I feel it is a necessity that as men we continue to grow each other. So V Cape was excited about what he had heard in Church; he said the Pastor spoke about the 5 C’s or five types of people who are beneficial to our growth. They are the Challenger, Confronter, Counselor, Comforter and Celebrator. He began to tell me about the sermon and it sounded amazing. I told him I would weave in some way shape or form these 5 C’s into the pardon me this week. I felt good when I got off the phone with him because even though I had failed to go to worship earlier in the day we both gained something from his experience.

Well when I went looking for a scripture this morning I was led to Isaiah chapter 40 which is the chapter that speaks of the comfort for God’s people. So comfort is the theme of today. That person who comforts you in your time of need, or weakness. When I think of comfort, I think of it being synonymous with faith, the person who comforts us holds our trust. We believe in their words because they will not steer us wrong. As God was comforting his people in the above scripture he is letting them know that their struggling is over, there time has come and they will receive the Lord’s grace. Comfort is like the warm blanket that rests upon your shoulders as you look out the window into the storm that is ravaging your neighborhood. The blanket comforts you because it keeps you warm, that warmth lets you know that this storm will be over but until then here is your comfort. You shall not be cold, for you are being protected. We must be thankful for not only the comforting person that is in our lives but we must pay homage to our Almighty Creator who always comforts us. Peace and Grace be unto you!

Unless you call out, who will open the door.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

