Pardon me

Or what can a man give in exchange for his soul? If anyone is ashamed of me and my words in this adulterous and sinful generation, the Son of Man will be ashamed of him when he comes in his Father’s glory with the holy angels. Mark 8: 37-38

There is a conversation going on right outside of where you are or you may be engaged in the conversation yourself. There are people who become visibly disgusted when you speak about your faith, or you may not know it but they choose to tune you out for fear that you will judge them. There is a conversation going on amongst men, amongst women and amongst believers and non believers. I know this because my brother Darian and I have this conversation often. We talk about how it has become unpopular and uncool to believe in God. To know his name and to valiantly represent him while we live in the world. Not only do we struggle with our own sinful ways (Mega Margaritas on Thursdays) but we struggle with our peers who judge us or have a fear of us judging them.

Interesting how the same people who make these judgments are the first people to ask you to pray for them when something goes wrong. God has become a back up plan, an “if all else fails” type of plan. Less than plan B, more like plan E; our desperation plan when times get rough and we need a little bit more than what we feel we can offer. So I was looking on biblegateway.com and I found this scripture in Mark. If we are ashamed to be Christians, to believe in a higher being and represent the principles that God has laid for us then we will be denied later. And for what, for fear that other people will judge you, for a lack of understanding the long run and being content with the short term winnings of the world. I bring all this up because I struggle myself. People say “yo i heard you got religious” and by no means have I gotten religious, I am just finding a new side of myself. I ‘m still the same ole Ced, but what if I did get religious and I cut out all of my weekly shenanigans that find me on top of cars and other nonsense. Would I then be uncool, unpopular, if so I am sure those are the people I don’t need. In fact the person I do need has already warned me about being ashamed of him and failing to have a relationship with him. That is the friend I shall listen to. Peace and Grace be unto you!

Don’t worry, God’s got you!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Pardon me”

  1. bshelley Says:

    Well said. I pray that you will be found faithful and not ashamed on that last day and every day until then. Every temptation is another opportunity to say “yes” to God’s will in your life. God bless you. Bryan (ps. virgin margaritas taste just as good and don’t leave the nasty aftertaste in your life.)

  2. nativenotes Says:

    thanks Bryan, I appreciate your words!

  3. Adria Says:

    Wow. this is great, and so true. Nice job.

  4. nativenotes Says:

    thanks, im glad u found the time to check it out!

Leave a Reply

