Pardon me

Do not conform any longer to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will.
Romans 12: 2

Funny how you find things, I read a letter yesterday to the graduates of 2008, where a Princeton professor apologized for the lack of education that older generations have bestowed upon the younger generations. One thing that struck me was that she spoke of how we are taught to be afraid to take risks, we are taught to chase the dollar and not our passions. Then I was rapping with my man who quit his job in search of his dreams, in search of his passion. Of course that’s a brave move, took a lot of courage and support to make such a transition but he’s doing it and doing it well. How can we succeed if we place all of our faith in worldly perceptions of how we should live and what we should follow?

I love that here in Romans the word tells us to no longer conform to the pattern of the world but be transformed by renewing our own minds. To me that concept is such a blessing, the road that I am traveling may not be the path of others or the path that is widely accepted by the world but trusting in God’s will will surely land me where I need to be, where he wants me to be. In order for us to renew our mind we must be concious of what we allow to affect our thoughts. In order to be transformed we must believe that we can change, that we can make a change. It does not matter if your background is finance and the world is telling you to go make bookoos of doe, if your passion lies somewhere else follow that. Follow it with God’s strength though, we have to truly believe in our own abilities. Sometimes that’s the hardest part, if we are truly honest often it is easier to see someone else’s talent and neglect your own, I know I do. But when we start thinking like that we just have to re-read the first part of today’s scripture and allow our minds to be renewed.

Realize that so many of us want more, yet do so little with what we have been given.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Pardon me”

  1. CLC Says:

    You get it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

