Pardon me

Then the LORD said to Joshua, “See, I have delivered Jericho into your hands, along with its king and its fighting men. March around the city once with all the armed men. Do this for six days. Have seven priests carry trumpets of rams’ horns in front of the ark. On the seventh day, march around the city seven times, with the priests blowing the trumpets. When you hear them sound a long blast on the trumpets, have all the people give a loud shout; then the wall of the city will collapse and the people will go up, every man straight in.” Joshua 6: 2-5

Happy Memorial Day, I just got back from the local parade in my town where there was a nice sound off for our soldiers, the ones living and those who have had an untimely demise. I wound up there because my little sister is in the marching band, sweet little girl, she’s growing so big. However, hearing the horns made me think of our soldiers fighting at war right now. My cousin has been in Iraq for the past however many moths and just this past Friday my God Sister told me that her orders have her leaving for Iraq soon. Immediately, I was upset by this but after hearing her energy I thought that it is just best for me to support her and pray for her.

So as I read the scripture above and I think of all of the family members and friends that we have at war I ask myself where are our priests? Where are our horns, where is our protection, where is the support for our troops in the name of our Lord. I know often my disdain with the government and our rationale for being at war makes me angry with the military but I recognize that this is misplaced anger. I look at the story of Jericho and it makes me want to support our troops even more, makes me think that we as a community of Christians we should be as supportive of the troops as possible to ensure that they come to a victory and come home safely. It is only through God’s will that our families and friends will be safe so I believe we must invoke the spirit of the days spoken of in the scripture and protect our troops with the armor of God. Peace and Grace be unto you.

No matter how long the night, the day is sure to come.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

