Pardon me

Each of us should please his neighbor for his good, to build him up.- Romans 15:2

“Build him up, publicize him, make him a celebrity!” Those are the words of Malcolm X and they have nothing to with this scripture but they came to mind when I read build him up. Today really is not about me nor was yesterday. It is still about my brothers who have graduated and are starting a new chapter in their life. I had a rough night last night, celebrating can get out of hand sometimes. Then I woke up this morning and I was being mentally selfish. I had selfish thoughts, I was thinking about my own happiness. But the truth is today is not about me, we are about to celebrate with a bbq and enjoy a few more festivities before i head back to NY to be with my family.

Build him up; that’s what we need to do for each other. Before writing this message I was talking with one of my sisters. I’ll commonly refer to my closest friends as brothers and sisters because I really do believe we have that vibe. They say we are all children of God so we are brothers and sisters. Either way she was building me up, speaking the truth as she sees it. She always does this, she’s a great friend. I have to make sure I do the same. Not build people or myself up with false hopes and empty rhetoric but more so truth. Last night my brother and I had a deep talk, there’s been a lot of deep moments going on lately but reading today’s scripture lets me know we are on the right path. We are building each other up! Peace and Grace be unto you!

God is good, all the time!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Pardon me”

  1. CLC Says:

    This is the essence of life. Spend your days reminding those you surround yourself with of the great people they are within and they’ll have no other option than to be great. And, you will always be wealthy. You celebrate their successes as if they are your own, because in essence they are. The people you choose are merely a refelction of you. So, when they win – you win. Always build. Build out – then build up. There are very people and things that can destroy the work of a master mason.

  2. arnie Says:

    Amen bro. =)

Leave a Reply

