Pardon me

Put to death, therefore, whatever belongs to your earthly nature: sexual immorality, impurity, lust, evil desires and greed, which is idolatry. Because of these, the wrath of God is coming. You used to walk in these ways, in the life you once lived. 8But now you must rid yourselves of all such things as these: anger, rage, malice, slander, and filthy language from your lips. Do not lie to each other, since you have taken off your old self with its practices and have put on the new self, which is being renewed in knowledge in the image of its Creator. Colossians 3: 5-10

I was looking through the bible for some words of joy, some words of praise because I feel blessed in a lot of ways. I read a topic called right living and figured I would check it out. As I started reading the above passage I was saying to myself “word, this is true, but I’m not about to write about this with my imperfect self”. Then I thought there must have been a reason that I was drawn to this specific passage and God knows that I am far from perfect so I can at least touch on it because it did speak to me.

What I immediately gained from reading these words and having gone to church and hearing the preacher’s talk about the days when they were in the streets is that it is all a process. No one became holy and sanctified over night. But see that word process becomes a crutch for me, I can’t speak for others. As long as something is a process, that is not delineated with a specific time frame we can continue to relapse and do what we feel because their is no clock that we are working on. It’s easy to say that our own conscience should be the clock but it’s not that simple. Over the years I have created many destructive habits, they haven’t destroyed me yet so I continue on that path. Having a renewed love for God but still battling with other temptations. I don’t really have a purpose for today’s message, more of my own confession. In the back of my mind I am asking myself, if I truly want to walk on the right path and receive God’s blessings why am I stalling in the process? Peace and Grace be unto you.

When the cock is drunk, he forgets about the hawk.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Pardon me”

  1. schildan Says:

    Romans 6:6, 11

    “Knowing this, that our old man was crucified with Him, that the body of sin might be done away with, that we should no longer be slaves of sin.”

    “Likewise, you also, reckon yourselves to be dead indeed to sin, but alive to God in Christ Jesus our Lord.”

Leave a Reply

