Pardon me

For what is a man profited, if he shall gain the whole world, and lose his own soul? or what shall a man give in exchange for his soul? Matthew 16:26

For some odd reason this scripture has been on my mind this morning. A few days ago my mother and I were talking about this Marvin Gaye special she was watching on tv (she’s a huge marvin Gaye fan). The special talked about how torn Marvin was and how he dealt with so many internal demons. His father was a pastor and they had a very strange relationship but she told me of this one story where Marvin threw a load of money on his parent’s bed to symbolize that he had finally made it. His father then quoted this exact scripture to him. It got me to thinking, thinking about how we live in a culture where we obsess over so many superficial things.

Are we chasing money and beauty rather than our own true passions. If we are, beauty fades and money is not promised to anyone (Just ask OJ). I know I do it, I have superficial desires and wants. I often wonder will we become all that we dream to be in exchange for our souls, in exchange for the goodness of our spirits. It’s easy to speak of balance and quickly read this and say that it does not apply to you. We can all have a perception of ourselves that is naturally flawed, more focused on what we expect life to be. Or how we believe that we view things, when in practice it may be very different. Just some food for thought for today, it’s raining outside and I am going to ponder on some of these questions and ask myself am I following my passions. Are you? Peace and Grace be unto you.

He who does not seize opportunity today, will be unable to seize tomorrow’s opportunity.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Pardon me”

  1. FJ Says:

    Not being a man “of” your environment is a challenge. We are surrounded 24 hours a day with messages that equate success with material acquisition and consumerism in general. As much as I love marketing as a field of study, it’s in misleading people to believe that the are “nothing” without having “stuff” has been particularly harmful to African Americans.

Leave a Reply

