Pardon me

Cast me not away from thy presence; and take not thy holy spirit from me. Restore unto me the joy of thy salvation; and uphold me with thy free spirit. Then will I teach transgressors thy ways; and sinners shall be converted unto thee. Psalm 51: 11-13

Psalm 51 is a long Psalm and I have quoted from it before in the Pardon me messages. I find strength in repeating the whole chapter aloud after I am done praying to God. It is clear that we all make mistakes. No sin is greater than the other and I’m sure I sin everyday. In this Psalm David says “cast me not away from thy presence”. It’s like, I know I am not perfect and I continue to make mistakes Father, but please do not turn away from me for I am your work in progress. I was laying down last night and I was saying to myself how easy it is to talk about faith. To say with your mouth that you believe everything happens for a reason and that it is all in God’s plan. However, I would be lying if I said that its easy to actually make those beautiful words practical. I guess it’s all a journey and a beautiful test we hope to pass.

Speaking of tests, I took my final exam of my 1L year today. A sense of relief came over me when I was finished with the exam. Anxiety set in too however, when we accomplish one feat we often look to the next ordeal or obstacle without taking a moment to be satisfied with our small victory. But back to this scripture, I love it because he asks the Lord to restore joy to him and he asks the Lord to uphold him. It’s like please don’t turn away from me, I make mistakes, but please hold me up with you awesome spirit. After that I am indebted to you, I will teach your word to others and speak highly of your amazing work. Listen we all make mistakes, and we should try and learn from the ones we repeatedly make. Thankfully, the Lord does not turn his back on us, instead he lifts us up to achieve greater heights and we praise his name for that. Sounds like a good look to me. Peace and Grace be unto you.

Things are easier said than done!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Pardon me”

  1. sbrooke Says:

    There are some of us out here that are hard on ourselves….(I myself, being one). When I read this passage of Palms I invision a man or woman kneeling before God (as his child) asking forgiveness. We have a forgiving giving Father…let me say this again…we have a forgiving Father.

    In the book of Romans Paul talks about “this war within” (I can’t remember the verse). He talks about the responsibility that you have as a Christian and this line you may walk with living in this world. “I know what I should do, but I do not do it…” (bare with my translations) I’m saying this because “easier said than done” is true! Its one thing to say…pray on it….believe and have faith and its another to actually…I mean ACTUALLY have faith and believe. You’re right…it is a journey that we go through (seasonably) but, when you have that “Doubt” or feeling that war within…TRY to remember all the blessings that God has given to you. Its hard…I know, trust…this was an interesting week for some. But TRY to remember when you WERE down an out and were low God brought you through. Or better yet, remember when you knew you didn’t have the money for rent, car note etc and by the grace of God…you made it through.

    Thanks for sending this out Ced

Leave a Reply

