Pardon me

Remember your Creator in the days of your youth before the days of trouble come and the years approach when you will say, “I find no pleasure in them” Ecclesiastes 12:1

This scripture stood out to me as I was thumbing through the book of Ecclesiastes. I can already tell that there will be many more messages set from this book alone because it is so rich with knowledge. Today’s scripture reminds me of my thoughts as a young man and some of my thoughts right now. I grew up watching my Grandmother be holy and sanctified. She was a true woman of God, she kept his word near and deep to her heart. So my concept of being saved was seen through the lens of her salvation. There was a lot of things that she did not do and would not indulge in because it was against the way of God. My own tattoo that I bear on my left arm celebrating her life would be an abomination of the body. So I grew up knowing that I wanted to go to heaven but figured I would make the transition when I am older . I’m still having fun; it didn’t seem like you could have to much fun and truly be committed to God.

Slowly in my mind however, fun is changing, what was fun at 14 is not fun at 24. I am also starting to see that one does not wake up and be as devout a Christian as my grandmother was. Like with everything else, spirituality it is a process. Today’s word once again pointed out that fact to me. I often hear people preach fear into our hearts when they talk about getting to know the Lord. “You don’t want to end up like those who will be judged and thrown into the pit of fire”. No one wants to be judged in that way but I find more happiness in not just thinking that the Lord will save me from a life of eternal damnation but what can I do for him while I am here to put forth the principles that he has has blessed us with. Humility, nobility, and being kind towards others. All of this to say we don’t have to be old, driving a Buick to get to know God. It is important that we get to know him now so that we can give glory to him through our works and appreciate his blessings all the same. Peace and Grace be unto you.

The ruin of a nation begins in the homes of its people.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Pardon me”

  1. Mo Says:

    That is all too true. Being 27 and in what i like to call the second phase of my life. I think back to the time when i was in catholic grade school and things were much simpler, but yet i followed the word of God without question. As i began to grow i questions the very foundation that had been laid out for me to follow. Even though there was more temptation in the world for me. My rationlae was that this was not the path I laid for mysefl, but yet the way others directed me to go. The irony is that a path or trail is created by people following the footstep of others that have come before them. Over time what was once a jungle with noe clear path to walk on has not become the trail that other use to navigate their way through this jungle we call life. I realize now that there is nothing wrong with following that path, in actuality that what its there for. It was harder for the ones who came before you b/c the path was not so clearly defined. I have found that path again, i wonder where i was in the jungle all this time. Never feel like its too late for you, but on that same note dont wait until the end to wish you woulsd have made a decision that could have changed the rest of your life. We cannot change the past, but we can change the future.

    Peace

Leave a Reply

