Pardon me

Then God said, “Let us make man in our image, in our likeness, and let them rule over the fish of the sea and the birds of the air, over the livestock, over all the earth, and over all the creatures that move along the ground.” So God created man in his own image, in the image of God he created him; male and female he created them. Genesis 1: 26-27

When I am consumed in my thoughts, I try and turn to the word so that I can find some words that may give me strength. I always find something but sometimes it’s a temporary fix, it doesn’t feel permanent. Last night while I laid in bed I was thinking about how the bible teaches us that we are made in the image of God, in the likeness of God. Those thoughts were giving me strength because I know how great God is but I needed to tangibly see them to embrace what he was saying. It was like I knew the words were in the bible but because it wasn’t staring at me I was doubtful that it was there or that it was talking about me.

Maybe others, you know the people who smile all the time are those who are made in his image. Those who don’t worry, don’t stress, maybe they are made in his image. I know none of this is true, well it is true because we are all made in his image. Growing up I never liked the passage where it spoke of God being a jealous God, saying that you should have no other God’s before him. It isn’t until right now that I sort of understand that statement. I felt like my God can’t be jealous, jealousy is a sin, only wack people who are haters are jealous so this is a part where they got it wrong. But this morning as I write this daily prayer I feel differently. I think about what it must mean to be all knowing and still watch people defy you and go to something that is not you. I still don’t like the term jealous but I think I understand what is trying to be conveyed. If you believe you are heaven sent, if you believe you are blessed does that mean that you never doubt yourself especially when others doubt what you know is right. Today I am a little all over the place but before this gets to long and you stop reading, just know that we are made in the image of the Lord. Flaws and all we are still beautiful beings who with courage and faith have the strength to muster over any obstacle placed before us. Peace and Grace be unto you!

The fool speaks, the wise man listens

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

