Another Fallen Soldier

R.I.P JOSHUA SIMMS


rip josh

Words can’t express a mother’s pain when her child is lost. Lost to the senseless violence and killings that are frequent amongst young black men today in America. Today I asked myself, why, and if not why how. How can we help, how can I help, is it worth the energy, will people listen? I am sure that it is worth the energy, to save what many are calling an endangered species; the young black male in America. A close friend asked me yesterday, why do you write, what is at your core? I didn’t know how soon I would be able to show her my answer rather than tell her. Why you ask, because that picture above us, that young man’s soul prayerfully resting in heaven could have been me. It can be any one of us who walk this earth searching for a better way. And because it could be us, might be us, this is even more reason why we must stand against the death of our people.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Another Fallen Soldier”

  1. CLC Says:

    I get it. It WAS my little brother, Nicholas. It WAS my friend, James. And at least twice, it COULD have me just as it COULD HAVE BEEN YOU. I get it, SS. I get it.

  2. Umm Makkah Sakinah bint Hyman Says:

    I am so overwhelmed by the many deaths in our community from violence of our own making. I work tirelessly to do something to change this problem and I have found one solution. Building businesses utilizing the “retired thugs and thuggettes” working together with the “squares” of the community. Changing the negative to positive to personal and community wealth. Bringing together our most valuable resouces and making us work for and support us.

    If you are of likemind and spirit and can see this vision too-
    contact me
    Sakinah bint Hyman
    302-507-8784
    ninejeddah@yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

