Pardon me

Then you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free. John 8:32

While watching an old episode of the Arsenio Hall show, Louis Farrakhan quoted Jesus saying “know the truth and the truth will set you free”. Powerful words, which have been spoken so many times from our different leaders that we forget the originator of such wisdom. Truth can be a vague term however, there are no absolute truths, except for the Glory of God. But I always try to look deeper into the God within me, and I ask myself for my own truth. When we live in the truth’s of other people we are essentially living our own lie because we are not being true to ourselves.

We must define ourselves prayerfully through the noble principles that have been set forth by our Creator. We have to really find the truth within this path the Lord has set for us, so that way we are truly giving it our all. Think about when people live for their parents; solely what their parents want of them, or their friends. They live empty lives because they are not chasing their own true passions. I don’t think it’s any different with our belief in God, we must seek out what God means to us and how he resonates within us. I can’t just rely on the fact that my grandmother was a devout Christian and let that guide me. What happens when I am faced against a wall and I am working on borrowed faith; I may abandon it because it was not genuinely within me? So today I am looking to follow the words of Gangstarr and “step back and observe with couth for we all must meet our moment of truth”. I want to be able to look within myself and define my reality for me, define my relationship with God, friends, and family for me. So that I am not chasing a false dream but walking towards the truth that Jesus told us will set us free. Peace and Grace be unto you!

One falsehood spoils a thousand truths

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Pardon me”

  1. sbrooke Says:

    “Then you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free…”
    I think that its usually used to refer to any truth, general principle of truth. If you read the whole chapter, you will see that Jesus was referring to a particular truth…Himself and the message of forgiving others. “Truth will make you free” I think refers to a particular truth, the truth of who He was and the sacrifice for us we can believe. Only then will we be free of the wages of our sins. Like…if you think about it. Only Jesus paid our debt, He died and raised from the dead, so only He via conviction in that truth can set us free from our sin.

    Jesus called himself “the truth” because He is the only Truth that can set us free.

Leave a Reply

