Pardon me

The LORD looked with favor on Abel and his offering, but on Cain and his offering he did not look with favor. So Cain was very angry, and his face was downcast. Then the LORD said to Cain, “Why are you angry? Why is your face downcast? If you do what is right, will you not be accepted?
But if you do not do what is right, sin is crouching at your door; it desires to have you, but you must master it. “Now Cain said to his brother Abel, “Let’s go out to the field.” And while they were in the field, Cain attacked his brother Abel and killed him. Then the LORD said to Cain, “Where is your brother Abel?” “I don’t know,” he replied. “Am I my brother’s keeper” Genesis 4: 4-9

Pardon me, today I chose this verse because I am upset with the senseless killings in our neighborhoods. I thought what better way to illustrate such sin than the story of Cain and Abel. What causes such hatred, what makes people act the way they act! Jealousy and envy consume people and drive them to do heinous things. I’m not here to moralize on anyone but when young children are getting sliced in their face, murdered in cold blood we have to say something. It says it right there in the word thou shall not kill, yet often we show our children and family the energy that is behind such senseless nonsense. Jealousy! The Lord asks why are you angry, I ask too, why are we angry?

The Lord spoke to Cain, he told him when you think these evil thoughts, when you plot against another sin is crouching at your door. He said it desires you; that’s powerful we all want to be desired. When we lack attention and we start “hating”, we are showing our communities the same energy the Lord asked Cain to rectify. By no means am I calling us murderers, but I am speaking of the jealousy that is invoked when people see people living a life they wish they were living. The need to keep up with the Jones’, has caused us to lose sight and create a material world where our children don’t know the difference between right and wrong. The root of it all is our negative thinking minds, inspiring and injecting hate into the ones that watch us. Why not eject love, I know I’m guilty of being slick with my tongue. You know what words do, they conjure up a feeling, bad words conjure up bad feelings. If from day one we teach respect to our to sons, our mothers wouldn’t have to bury their sons. Maybe death is too deep for someone to understand well I see it in the church, I see it in the streets, man I even see it in the classroom. We are dying, if not physically, symbolically because we lack the love language that our Creator teaches us. God gives freedom, God gives knowledge, lets take that same knowledge and feed our youth, feed our people no matter what race or creed or gender! It may sound cliche but with a little bit of love this world would be a better place. Peace and Grace be unto you!

Anywhere I see suffering, that is where I want to be, doing what I can.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Pardon me”

  1. sethandray Says:

    Although you are right on addressing the violence and hatred in our communities, this verse also speaks to me in another powerful way. I was struck by the line where it reads “But if you do not do what is right, sin is crouching at your door; it desires to have you, but you must master it.”

    To me, this is God’s way of saying that he understands what we go through on a daily basis. He is fully aware of every emotion that we deal with when facing sin. However, he also makes it plainly clear that we He has created us with the ability to MASTER sin. And by saying that we MUST master sin, then there must be a reason for that. God knows that we don’t have to fall to sin and expects us not to. It’s something that we have to realize ourselves and I think this verse does a good job of explaining that.

    http://sethandray.wordpress.com/

  2. anonymous Says:

    i hear you

  3. Sam Says:

    Great essay! “My brother’s keeper”– befitting title for law school.

    I think the jealousy in our community is rooted in anger. It’s a stifling and sometimes overwhelming type of anger– from white racism and also black rejection. I think that Cain thought that God rejected him. I think we sometimes feel rejected by our community. It becomes difficult to exist in an anomalous white culture without a supportive black culture.

    For me…I try to fight that anger everyday…so that I can survive, to help someone from my own community, master what Cain couldn’t.

Leave a Reply

