Pardon me

A man of many companions may come to ruin,
but there is a friend who sticks closer than a brother. Proverbs 18:24

I read another breakdown of this scripture and it read “There are “friends” who destroy each other, but a real friend sticks closer than a brother”. Friendship was on my mind heavily this morning as I thought of the great ones that I have in my life. I thought of how fortunate I am to have good friends and I enjoyed the fact that others thought of me as such. While we are all trying to achieve some sort of success, we would be fools to only measure ourselves by monetary successes and material things. But I love how the scripture warns us, a man of many companions may come to ruin. Surrounding ourselves with people who don’t have our best interest at heart just so that we wont be lonely is not being blessed with great friends. That’s being bogged down by the celebrity of friendship rather than the true nature of building relationships.

You know its funny, after reading this scripture I think of old church songs i used to hear. I barely ever know the words but there’s one that talks about having a friend in Jesus. For years I took that song in vain and I wasn’t really getting the message from it. But now I’m wishing all that time I had been actively pursuing a friendship with Jesus, that’s a true friendship. Having a greater belief in him and knowing that he has my back; there’s nothing I cant do with a friend like that. I for one am taking the time to prayerfully build a better relationship with the Creator and to acknowledge all of the beautiful friends and family that I have in my life. Without them there would be no me and I feel that we all have those type of spirits in our lives, so today I wish to honor them. They continue to help us grow and hopefully we do the same for them. Peace and Grace be unto you!

Better a diamond with a flaw than a pebble without.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

