Pardon me

For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life. John 3:16

I went to bed with a lot on my mind Saturday night so of course I woke up with the a lot on my mind Sunday morning. I was consumed with mental anguish about different things and asking God where was he with respect to different situations in my life. However, with it being Sunday morning I was quickly reminded of the Resurrection of Jesus and I wondered who was I to have these thoughts. All of this reminded me of a story I heard Shirley Caesar tell on one of her albums. The story was of a Minister who had a son who was fighting in Vietnam. The Pastor and family would pray every night that the Lord would bring this young man home, unfortunately the young man was killed on the front line. This death shocked the Minister and caused him to stay away from the church because he was angry that the Lord had failed him. The Minister asked where was God when he was praying all those nights; a close Deacon friend said the Lord was right where he was when gave his only begotten son right there at Calvary.

The Pastor realized that life is a battlefield and by him leaving the spiritual battlefield of a pastor people in the church were spiritually dying. I use this story because despite the pains and troubles that we endure in our lives we must remain faithful to the Lord. A God who would give up his only son for the sins of the world; so that we could get to him through the ways of Jesus Christ. Principles of nobility, a kind heart, and doing unto others as you would like them to do unto you. So today’s scripture is a reminder to me that I serve a God who too has been pierced by the sinful ways of man when they killed his only son. But through his son, in believing in his son, in believing in the great powers of the Lord I can fight whatever internal or external battle I may have. That no weapon formed against me shall prosper because my soul is connected to the Creator. So despite troubled times, think to the troubles our own God has faced and find hope in that through our connection to him we can ACHIEVE whatever greatness we allow our beautiful minds to conjure up. Peace and Grace be unto you!

All that we are is the result of what we have thought. If a man speaks or acts with an evil thought, pain follows him. If a man speaks or acts with a pure thought, happiness follows him, like a shadow that never leaves him.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

