Pardon me

March 14, 2008

Cast not away therefore your confidence, which hath great recompense of reward. For ye have need of patience, that, after ye have done the will of God, ye might receive the promise. For yet a little while, and he that shall come will come, and will not tarry. Now the just shall live by faith; but if any man draw back, my soul shall have no pleasure in him. But we are not of them who drawback unto perdition; but of them that believe to the saving of the soul. Hebrews 10: 35-39

recompense- compensate, make ammends to or reward for loss

tarry- stay longer than intended

perdition- state of eternal punishment

Good morning, I read through the scripture, defined some words that I wasn’t sure about and attempted to contextualize the passage and it still left me a bit confused. However, I did get this, remain confident in your walk with God, remain confident in all that you do because it is that good energy and that direct blessing from the Lord that will allow good to continue to come into your life. Think about it, when we are in a funk of some sorts, a bad day becomes a terrible day and so on and so on. But when we walk with our heads held high, smiling and in a good mood we see the beauty in the earth, we notice the kind things others have done for us and we tend to not let the negative people or their energies affect us. The same is true of our walk with God, we must remain confident that we have a Creator who is watching over us and assisting us daily in our lives, walking with such confidence yields more rewards from the Lord.

The passage speaks of patience, something I lack all the time. However this is something I have to work on because I have read in the bible many times that patience is needed, that in order to receive our promise from the Lord we must be patient and always remain faithful in his word. This scripture also speaks about those who draw back, truth is we all draw back, at least I do. Everyday I ask the Lord to strengthen my faith, to allow me to believe, I can’t front like sometimes I don’t sit back and question my own faith when times get hard. Of course I do, but this is an ongoing process, I am learning, and trying to learn how to trust in the Lord and let him guide me. Not the easiest task, but nothing worth having is easy anyway. So I love how the scripture ends because although at times I may draw back, essentially I am more concerned with saving my soul and going towards a more fulfilled life with God. So because we can walk with confidence in every aspect of our life, especially our faith we can be rewarded. Rewards do sometimes drop out of the sky, but while staring up at the clouds we are being patient and waiting for these rewards, and if we fall back, let us remember to get confident in the Lord, be patient and keep striving towards a better understanding. Peace and Grace be unto you!

Treat a person as he is, and he will remain as he is. Treat him as he could be, and he will become what he should be.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Pardon me”

  1. Lorenzo Says:

    Paul said to to press toward the mark of a higher calling in Christ Jesus, and fight the good fight of faith. And one of the greatest things to have is Love because its patient, kind, and true. So so continue to hold on and know that Jesus said he will not loose any that the father has given him,and that his loveth endureth forever. He also said know we can go to the Father asking anything in his name because he is the adversary between us and the Father. So if its patiences you need just ask, if its strenghth you need just ask,Because we are more than conquers trough Christ Jesus who loves. Love and peace Renzo

Leave a Reply

