Pardon me

March 13, 2008

Not that I have already obtained all this, or have already been made perfect, but I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me. Brothers, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus. All of us who are mature should take such a view of things. And if on some point you think differently, that too God will make clear to you. Phillipians 3: 13-15

The way the Lord allows the word to resonate in my life is so amazing at times that I really have to sit back and be thankful. The theme of this verse is “pressing toward the goal”, preparing yourself to reach your own greatest good. In this scripture it says to me that I may not know all the answers, I may not fully comprehend my goal or my gift from God but I am moving towards it. In order to move towards it, I must leave what is behind me behind me, I won’t lose the lesson but I can not dwell on past situations so much that they cause a hinderance in my future. We have all gotten ourselves involved in situations that weren’t beneficial to us, the problem is we then entertain ourselves about why we should have seen this coming, and why this and why that. None of that is helping us attain our goal, take the lesson and keep it pushing!

Just like the scripture says, “press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called”. The goal that he has for you is multi-faceted, the Creator wants you to use all of your talents, all of the talents that he has given you. And he grants us with little victories along the way, we must remember to be thankful for the little victories as well. I have an older sister who is studying for her nursing boards, it is in the Lord’s will that she will become an RN, he has other goals for her and us as well. But he blesses us by letting us graduate from schools, by allowing us to get the jobs that we want, the homes that we want, the soul mate that we need. All of these are small victories and if we continue to live in his way we will continue to live the good life, and achieve such victories. Lastly, it says all mature minds should take such view, and if we are thinking differently God comes into our life like right now and reminds us that no matter what strife we see he has a plan and he will continue to help us press towards our goals. Just by putting him first and having the courage to believe that we can achieve places us on the path to accomplishing our many endeavors. Peace and Grace be unto you!

Seize the day, put no trust in tomorrow!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

