Pardon me

March 11, 2008

“Everything is permissible” – but not everything is beneficial. “Everything is permissible” – but not everything is constructive. Nobody should seek his own good, but the good of others. I Corinthians 10: 23-24

Everything is permissible huh, but what does that mean? We have been given the gift and the curse of free will which makes all things permissible but not necessarily beneficial, not necessarily constructive either; starting with our own minds. After sending out these pardon me messages and rapping with friends I have learned that we are all going through very similar struggles. One person and I always speak about how the Bible tells us to be still, but from reading this word and speaking with another friend I have learned a part of being still it literally being still. The mind, this free will we have starts with our own imagination. Point blank sometimes we think to much, we think about what is permissible but we know it may not be beneficial, it has already shown that at this point in our life it is not for us. We think about all the things we can do, but then we are not constructive because we are so busy thinking about one million things that we don’t have the mind capacity to get things done. I am trying to learn how to be still, literally, freeing my mind of all its crazy thoughts and just relaxing and finding my own inner peace.

There are consistent themes throughout the bible, throughout the word they tell us to surrender these thoughts and let God guide us. We say that we are surrendering ourselves but we are not surrendering these babbling minds. I know my mind is my best friend, works me through alot but she and I’ll call her she because she confuses me. (come on laugh) She helps me through things but she also puts me through things that may be unnecessary had I just relaxed, relied on faith and stuck to whatever the task at hand was. Lastly this concept of not seeking your own good but seeking the good of others. Anything in excess can and will consume you and then it becomes hard to see yourself. I don’t think that anyone should just only seek their own good, because to only seek the good of others will put us in a situation where we are not loving ourselves. We have to learn how to love ourselves before we can love others, if not we get caught up in a self defeating mindset that does not allow peace in our hearts. But to me this word is saying don’t be so consumed and selfish in your own good, take some of that time to think of others and bring joy into their lives. Peace and Grace be unto you!

Practice all that you know so that you can be shown more!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Pardon me”

  1. N. Hopkins Says:

    Grace and Peace be unto you as well, from God the Father and our Lord Jesus Christ.
    Positively and refreshingly interesting!

    It seems you are on an important journey. Learning to be still is a process, especially in 2008. And As still as I may have been on Sunday, by Wednesday I’m a stirred up mess! These two verses you posed are so very full. In response to your comment about your babbling mind. It is true, our minds are open to so much and can get us into Spiritual trouble. Our minds will justify sins (these things are prophesied in the Bible) Which is why it is so important to be diligent, pray and allow a suitable place for the Spirit of God to live within us. These things I know, and I am sure you do too.

Leave a Reply

