Pardon me

March 6, 2008

He who dwells in the shelter of the Most High will rest in the shadow of the Almighty.  I will say of the LORD, “He is my refuge and my fortress, my God, in whom I trust.” Surely he will save you from the fowler’s snare and from the deadly pestilence. He will cover you with his feathers, and under his wings you will find refuge; his faithfulness will be your shield and rampart. You will not fear the terror of night, nor the arrow that flies by day, nor the pestilence that stalks in the darkness, nor the plague that destroys at midday. Psalm 91: 1-5

pestilence: fatal epidemic disease

rampart: defensive wall or barrier

Good morning, you can find the definitions to two of the words within the scripture today directly above. I am not sure if you knew what these words meant ,but I for one did not and sometimes context clues just aren’t enough. Today’s scripture grabs me in a different way, I see it as a reward for our belief in God, and our continued growth in his understanding. Immediately one part spoke directly to me, when it spoke of not fearing the arrow that flies by day. Yesterday I spoke with one of my cousins who is fighting in Iraq and when I read these words I immediately thought of him. As I continue to think of him, I am happy that the Lord brought me this word, telling me that he is going to protect my cousin, and Lord willing protect your family who may be fighting in this war. Not just protect our soldiers but protect our families from the many troubles and sickness in the world. Secondly, a friend of mine recently had a tragedy in her own family. Her sister was hit by a stray bullet and is in the hospital right now. My prayers are with the family but I cant help but think of this scripture, rather than a loss of sight their family could be struggling with a loss of life. So we must take our victories where we can and be thankful that the our Creator is watching over us, keeping us from sickness and protecting us everyday as we are fortunate enough to return home to our families. That’s something to smile about, thats something to be happy about, man I’m happy for us; that we are fortunate to read this email and grow together spiritually. Darkness may present itself at every corner but as the scripture shows us we must not fear that darkness because we have a connection with a higher power, so we’ll be good; Peace and Grace be unto you!

When a needle falls into a deep well many people will look into the well but few will be ready to go down after it.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

